Oregon Outfitter/Guide Registration Bond - $5,000
What is the Oregon Outfitter/Guide Registration Bond?
The State of Oregon expects aspiring outfitters and guides to secure their application for licensing with the Oregon State Marine Board prior the start of their operations. Among the requirements include completion of application requirements, Certificate of Liability Insurance, American Red Cross Card or similar, and an annual non-refundable fee among others.
The Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 704.010 defines outdoor youth programs as activities or services for the benefit of children with behavioral, mental, or substance abuse problems, all conducted in outdoor settings. Accordingly, applicants are required to secure proper licensing and bonding in the amount of $5,000 which must be settled prior their operation. The bond is a form of insurance that will compensate the public following standard processing.
For more information, you may visit Oregon State Marine Board Guides/Charters information page or their physical office.
Why do you need an Oregon Outfitter/Guide Registration Bond?
The State of Oregon imposes strict regulations for outfitters and/or guides wishing to lead tourists or guests in local fishing, hiking, hunting, rafting, rock climbing and similar activities. As a pre-licensing requirement, applicants are obliged to secure a bond to ensure the compensation of the public in the event of accidents and other infractions, or should the applicant choose to default.
Apart from the mandatory legal compliance, securing your own licensing bond also ensures:
- Clients are completely safe and secure under your agency
- Your credibility is boosted in terms of financial security
- You are able to use your full line of credit
- The confidentiality of your activities (unless requested by legal authorities)
- Your access to professional advice counseling from lawyers, estimators, and similar professionals.
More details about the Oregon Outfitter/Guide Registration Bond
The bond must be filed with Oregon State Marine Board and must be issued by a surety bond provider certified by the State’s Insurance Department. The parties in the agreement are:
- Principal (guides and/or outfitters)
- Obligee (State of Oregon)
- Surety/Bond Company or Obligor (surety bond provider)
How much does an Oregon Outfitter/Guide Registration Bond?
Although the Oregon Outdoor Outfitter/Guide Registration Bond itself costs normally between $100 and $500 with premium rates of 1% to 10%, the cost will typically depend on the employer’s credit score, industry experience, business history, and the surety provider’s background.
How do I obtain this bond?
At Surety Bond Authority, we are dedicated to help you get your bond the fast and easy way. Here is a step-by-step guide to help you get started.
To secure your bond, be sure to transact with a reputable surety company early. If you are ready to get yours processed today, you can APPLY HERE. Rest assured our expert surety bond agent will guide you from the time of your application until the issuance of your bond.
- Completed bond application form (to be provided by our trusted surety agents)
- Bond forms (as designed and mandated by the state regulation department)
- Financial documents (this includes your bank account statements, sources of income, balance sheets, personal and business capital, escrow accounts, etc.)
- Other requirements as prescribed (seller’s permit, facility permit to legally conduct business, etc.)
In the assessment phase, our underwriter will need the following information:
- Nature of your business
- Credit Score
- Financial strength
For the speedy processing of your application, ensure you have gathered and provided accurate information upon submission.
Once the assessment is done, we will promptly issue your bond and send it your way. Contact us today and get your bond issued in no time.