Oregon Labor Contractor Sole Proprietor or Partnership Bond
What is the Oregon Labor Contractor (Sole Proprietor or Partnership) Bond?
The State of Oregon requires those planning to solicit, recruit, or employ contractors in the construction, farm or forest labor, and property services (janitorial labor) industries to secure a labor contractor license. Applicants must secure their license with the state’s Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI).
Accordingly, one pre-licensing requirement is the Oregon Labor Contractor Sole Proprietorship or Partnership Bond which is in compliance with the provisions of the Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) Chapter 658. Each industry have different requirements for Sole Proprietors and Partnerships. To know the specific requirements, you may visit here for janitorial services, construction, and farm or forest labor contractor.
Why do you need an Oregon Labor Contractor (Sole Proprietor or Partnership) Bond?
The State of Oregon, by virtue of the ORS 658, mandates labor contractors to secure bonding in order to obtain proper licensing requirements. The bond guarantees the financial stability of the permittee’s to punctually meet the contractors’ wages and other aligned benefits.
Generally, if employing 20 employees or less, the bond amount will be at $10,000 while employing more than 21 employees will obligate a $30,000 bond subject to reduction.
Apart from the mandatory legal compliance, securing your own licensing bond also ensures:
- Clients are completely safe and secure under your agency
- Your credibility is boosted in terms of financial security
- You are able to use your full line of credit
- The confidentiality of your activities (unless requested by legal authorities)
- Your access to professional advice counseling from lawyers, estimators, and similar professionals.
More details about the Oregon Labor Contractor (Sole Proprietor or Partnership) Bond
The bond must be filed with the Bureau of Labor and Industries. It must also be issued by a surety bond provider certified by the Oregon Department of Insurance. The parties in the agreement are:
- Principal (labor contractor)
- Obligee (Oregon State)
- Surety/Bond Company or Obligor (surety bond provider).
How much does an Oregon Labor Contractor (Sole Proprietor or Partnership) Bond cost?
The cost of the Labor Contractor (Sole Proprietor or Partnership) Bond in the State of Oregon will depend on the applicant’s credit score, industry experience, business history, and the surety provider’s financial background. Typically, the bond will be between 1.5% and 2%.
Visit here and get your surety bond quote today!
How do I obtain this bond?
At Surety Bond Authority, we are dedicated to help you get your bond the fast and easy way. Here is a step-by-step guide to help you get started.
To secure your bond, be sure to transact with a reputable surety company early. If you are ready to get yours processed today, you can APPLY HERE. Rest assured our expert surety bond agent will guide you from the time of your application until the issuance of your bond.
- Completed bond application form (to be provided by our trusted surety agents)
- Bond forms (as designed and mandated by the state regulation department)
- Financial documents (this includes your bank account statements, sources of income, balance sheets, personal and business capital, escrow accounts, etc.)
- Other requirements as prescribed (seller’s permit, facility permit to legally conduct business, etc.)
In the assessment phase, our underwriter will need the following information:
- Nature of your business
- Credit Score
- Financial strength
For the speedy processing of your application, ensure you have gathered and provided accurate information upon submission.
Once the assessment is done, we will promptly issue your bond and send it your way. Contact us today and get your bond issued in no time.