What is a California Traffic Violator School Owner Bond?
The California traffic violator school owner bond is designed to protect consumers from losses due to misrepresentation or unethical business practices. In order to operate within the state, the California Department of Motor Vehicles requires traffic violator schools to post this bond.
Who Needs a California Traffic Violator School Owner Bond?
Regardless of whether the school is offering in-person classes or online coursework, California traffic violator schools must post a surety bond. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires home study or internet-based schools to post $15,000 bonds, and owners who do not offer remote programs are required to purchase a $2,000 bond.
Why Do I Need a California Traffic Violator School Owner Bond?
Traffic violator school owners are required to comply with Vehicle Code sections 11202(a)(3) and 11203.5. This surety bond ensures that the school owner will conduct business ethically and lawfully, and will avoid causing monetary loss for any person receiving instruction from the school.
If the principal violates these laws or the terms of the surety agreement, any harmed parties are able to make a claim against the traffic violator school owner bond. Once finalized, the principal is responsible for reimbursing the surety for any damages paid or associated legal costs.
How Much Does a California Traffic Violator School Owner Cost?
Schools that don’t offer internet-based coursework may be issued the $2,000 bond instantly and without a credit check. Prices may be as low as $100.
The $15,000 bonds required for internet-based and home study programs are subject to underwriting, and the cost will vary based upon the credit rating of the principal. For well-qualified applicants, the cost may be as low as $150.
Get Started Today!
In order to operate as a traffic violator school, you must first purchase a California traffic violator school owner bond. Don’t delay your application.