What is a California Home Care Employee Dishonesty Bond?
The California Home Care Services Bureau requires all home care organizations and their aides maintain a home care employee dishonesty bond to protect the elderly or disabled individual from unethical or illegal acts.
Who Needs a California Home Care Employee Dishonesty Bond?
Home care organizations or private home care aides that assist elderly and disabled persons with every day, nonmedical tasks are required to be licensed in the State of California. To receive that licensing, the home care company or individual must purchase a $10,000 home care employee dishonesty bond.
Why Do I Need a California Home Care Employee Dishonesty Bond?
The home care employee dishonesty bond was put in place by the Home Care Services Protection Act (HCSCPA) to protect elderly and disabled persons from the mishandling of their funds by home care agencies and their employees. These professionals are required to conduct business in a lawful and ethical manner, especially when it comes to the physical and financial wellbeing of their clients.
If a home care aide mishandles his or her client’s funds, the client may file a claim against the home care employee dishonesty bond up to the full amount of the bond. Once the claim has been settled, the principal is then required to reimburse the surety up to the total amount of the claim and any associated legal fees.
How Much Does a California Home Care Employee Dishonesty Bond Cost?
The California home care employee dishonesty bond is required of $10,000 and often does not require a credit check. Home care aides may be able to purchase their surety bond for as low as $100. These bonds are issued for a 1-year term and must be renewed annually for as long as the license remains active.
Get Started Today!
To operate a home care organization or independent home care service, you must first purchase a home care employee dishonesty bond. Don’t delay your application.